Pet The Preacher
Short Stories: Papa Zen & Meet The Creature


This full length LP features two EPs by the trio from Kopenhagen/DK – “Meet the creature” was recorded before the mighty debut “The banjo” (2012) an features three amazing, bluesy tracks. “Papa Zen” was recorded right after the tour in 2012 and shows the develpment of the band – the three tracks show a great variation in style…just have a listen, you will enjoy it!


  • A1 | 06m26s – Into A Darker Night
  • A2 | 04m26s – A Part Of Me
  • A3 | 07m38s – I Won’t Let You Go
  • B1 | 07m28s – Bright Land / Black Death
  • B2 | 04m13s – Concrete Prophet
  • B3 | 05m24s – Papa Zen

Vinyl Factz.

  • 100x black
  • 200x clear/black marbled
  • 100x white (exclusive mailorder version)
  • all high-quality heavy 180g vinyl pressed in Germany
  • matt laquered 300gms gatefold cover
  • handnumbered

Sample Song.

The press wrote.

Last year Pet The Preacher released the very good and highly acclaimed album The Banjo. It was marvelous album that landed on my top 20 list for 2012. Immediately after releasing The Banjo the band announced that they were working on a new EP. That EP is about to make it’s way out very soon.

The EP is actually a double one. Previously the band released an EP titled Meet The Creature in 2011. That EP will be released as a double EP with the new material titled Papa Zen released through Bilocation Records on vinyl.

The Meet The Creature side begins with a bass heavy number with “Into A Darker Night.” The song starts off with a slow tempo and picks it up as it progresses. “A Part of Me” is a fast and heavy song that stays consistent throughout. This side ends with the very good “I Won’t Let You Go.” The song shifts from slow to fast in a typical verse chorus verse format but then changes up a bit with a killer guitar solo about 5 1/2 minutes in to end the song.

On the Papa Zen side lies 3 very heavy songs that do nothing short of rocking your ass off. You’re greeted with “Bright Light, Black Death” which begins slow but wastes no time in picking it up. Overall it is more of a mid-tempo song. “Concrete Prophet” is next. It’s faster then the previous song. It’s an easy favorite. Listen below, you’ll see. That side ends off with the titled track which is a very guitar and bass heavy instrumental song.

This double EP is very similar to what Black Cowgirl did where they put two EPs on one slab of wax. It’s great to not only hear the new material but also to listen to the previous material, especially if you haven’t heard it. If you had any type of interest in The Banjo, this is right up your alley. While it doesn’t have a story like The Banjo did, this is still 6 very good songs that do nothing short of kick your ass and make you breathless. It’s heavy, somewhat fuzzy, and sounds great. If you like things that rock, and this album does just that, you’re going to want this. Give “Concrete Prophet” from the album a listen on the player below.

Bill Goodman - Sodashop