Mondo Drag
Mondo Drag


Under the spiritual guidance of the forefathers of heavy psych, prog, and proto-metal, Mondo Drag has created an amalgamation of sounds the likes of which have not resounded through the atmosphere for decades. The band’s unique sound, and rare cohesion probably stem from the fact that core members John Gamino, Nolan Girard, and Jake Sheley actually grew up within a one mile radius from each other, attended the same schools, were a part of the same scene, and have played music with each other for 15 years.

New Rituals was released by Alive Records in 2010 and for the next fourteen months the band hit the road hard, headlining a half a dozen tours in the US and appearing at numerous psych fests along the way. The band’s stellar live performances soon became a thing of wonder and saw the band share stages with contemporary artists such as Sleepy Sun, Dead Meadow, Witchcraft, Pentagram, Black Mountain, Wooden Shjips, and Naam to name a few.

In the Winter of 2011-2012 the band returned to Future Appletree Studios Too to record with friend and gear guru, Patrick Stolley. Utilizing his extensive vintage gear library and expansive knowledge of analog recording, they were able to capture full-band live performances recorded to analog tape. Most of the live tracking was recorded with 1940’s and 50’s RCA ribbon mics and everything recorded on the album ran through tube pre-amps and transformers of the same era.

Shortly after the album was recorded, Zack & cory moved to Sweden to pursue their new group, Blues Pills. This left the band with still no rhythm section. After much thought, the band decided it was time to move and reform the group so in 2013 they caravanned to Oakland, CA. Since then, the band has picked up a new rhythm section and has quickly become a staple of the bay area’s psych/prog scene playing with bands like Hot Lunch, Lecherous Gaze, Wild Eyes, Once and Future Band, and Hedersleben.

Produced, engineered & mixed by Mondo Drag and Patrick Stolley.
Mastered by Jim Brick.
Artwork by Robert Beatty.


  • A1 | 02m34s – Zephyr
  • A2 | 04m36s – Crystal Visions Open Eyes
  • A3 | 03m04s – The Dawn
  • A4 | 06m40s – Plumajilla
  • B1 | 05m24s – Shifting Sands
  • B2 | 06m45s – Pillars Of The Sky
  • B3 | 06m10s – Snakeskin

Available as CD & limited Vinyl.

Vinyl Factz.

  • 100x marbled (EXCLUSIVE MAILORDER version)
  • 200x yellow
  • 200x black
  • Plated & pressed on high performance vinyl in Germany
  • Matt laquered 300gsm  gatefold cover
  • Handnumbered
  • Mastered for vinyl
  • 2nd press: standard cover, clear vinyl, not numbered

Sample Song.